Match Play Championship

Top-16 on the Mulligan Tour World ranking



Register Here

Click here to
pay electronically

Match Play

July 13-14 at Willow Metropark

Entry Fee: $135       Registration Deadline: July 4

Round 1 - Saturday @ 8:00am  

Round 2 - Saturday @ 1:30   ($60 refund for those not moving on to Sunday)

Semi-Finals - Sunday @ 8:00am

FINALS and 3rd place match - Sunday @ 1:30pm

(Cart and burger, chips and soda included both days)

PURSE = $205     1st place = $60     2nd = $40    3rd = $25    4th = $20   T5 = $10  T9 = $5

Men:  Par 71   (blue tees)  6,394 yards    Rating = 70.8   Slope = 128

Senior Men:  Par 71  (white tees)  6,018 yards  Rating = 69.1   Slope = 123

Women:  Par 72  (red tees)   5,094  yards    Rating = 70.4  Slope = 120

Handicaps applied on different holes

******************** New Format***************

The Mulligan Tour Match Play Championship is a grueling competition that rewards the winning player with the Tour's richest 1st place paycheck ($60).  The top-16 players on the Mulligan Tour World Ranking are invited to start the tournament.  This year all players will get two rounds on Saturday.  Round 1 begins on Saturday morning.  The 8 winning players will re-tee in the afternoon to trim the field down to 4.  At the same time, the losers bracket will playoff for pride, 9th place and new this year, a wildcard bid to a Division Championship of their choice. The 4 successful winners bracket players continue on Sunday morning (semi-finals) and Sunday afternoon (Finals and 3rd place) to carve up the $205 purse.  The 4 players that tie for 5th get $10 each and the 4 who tie for 9th get $5 and the wildcard.


If any players ranked in the top-16 on the World Ranking decline their invitation, then offers are extended down the ranking until a field of 16 players is secured.  Members are asked not to register for the Match Play Championship if they cannot participate for the full two days.

The deadline for registering for the tournament is July 4.  However, the World Rankings formulated after the June 30 C Cool Open tournament will be used to set the field of players for the 2019 Match Play Championship.  The final seeding order of the field of players entered will be set after the Two Stick results on July 7.

Match play format – Players play against each other 1 on 1.  Low net score for each hole wins the hole.  The player that wins the most holes wins the match.  In fact, the match is finished when 1 player is “up” by more holes than remain.  For example: A player wins “3 and 2” when the player is up by 3 holes after 16.

The higher handicap player shall receive a number of strokes that is the difference between the 2 players handicaps.

If the 18 hole match ends “all square” then the 2 players will continue in extra holes (starting at #1 or #10) to decide the winner.

Earnings in the Match Play Championship are shown on the Overall Money Standings

Quick Links:

Match Play Championship RESULTS
visit the Metroparks golf website

Tournament History

Year Champion and runner up Course
Kevin Gregoire in 21 Holes over Tim Markel
Willow Metropark GC
Mike Nicholas 5 & 4 over Jeff Graunke
The Woodlands of Van Buren
Mike Nicholas  7 & 6 over Greg Kline
Warren Valley West Course
Helen Puffenberger 5 & 4 over Greg Kline
The Woodlands of Van Buren
Mike Prieskorn 2 & 1 over Ed Campbell
The Woodlands of Van Buren
Ed Campbell 6 & 5 over Tom W Litzler
The Woodlands of Van Buren
Steve Villerot 2 & 1 over Greg Kline
The Woodlands of Van Buren
2012 Kelly Arnold 19 holes over Tom W Litzler The Woodlands of Van Buren
2011 Kevin Morin  5 & 3 over Mike Prieskorn The Woodlands of Van Buren
2010 Thom Bales  2 & 1 over Rick Persichetti The Woodlands of Van Buren
2009 Kelly Arnold  6 & 5 over Tom R Litzler Links at Whitmore Lake
2008 Bob Bruning  7 & 6 over John Powell Willow Metropark GC
2007 DeVonne Mowry  2 & 1 over Thom Bales Links at Whitmore Lake
2006 Greg Kline  3 & 2 over Dan Schwartz Links at Whitmore Lake
2005 Greg Kline  2-up over Joe Castmore The Woodlands of Van Buren
2004 Greg Kline  4 & 2 over Rick Persichetti Inkster Valley GC
2003 Steve Gregg  3 & 2 over Rick Persichetti The Woodlands of Van Buren
2002 David Martin  2 & 1 over Greg Kline Inkster Valley GC
2001 Steve Gregg  1-up over Frank Caruana The Woodlands of Van Buren

The Mulligan Tour Match Play Championship trophy

Home | News | Schedule | Tournaments | Courses | Stats | Rules | Pro Shop | Join the Tour | About Us

© 2019 The Mulligan Tour LLC